I'm new and need some time to read through posts for information but hoping you can help

I have been losing my hair for over 6 years.  When I first told the doc she checked iron, thyroid etc but other than that nothing.  5 years later I told her I was still losing hair.  She checked again and then sent me to a dermatologist.  I guess this time it was more obvious and I was believed.  Dermatologist did a biopsy and I received the diagnosis. I was told minoxidil which I should have been trying years ago.  I have not tried it yet.  Embarrassed to say I tried the igrow for 6 months and nothing.

Not sure what to do.

After 6 months I finally went to get my hair cut.  I was embarrassed because there is so much scalp showing.  And I saw more at the back now.  I am scared and horribly depressed.

Any suggestions.  I really need some help and nobody seems to know anything in the real world on where to go/what to do?

Views: 421

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Once you start using a product like Minoxidil you have to keep using it or it will all fall out again.  The Dr. should have told you that. AU is a autoimmune disorder

Drs. don't know what to say or do for hair loss.  There is no answer. Anything they can offer you is a lifelong commitment and all gain will be lost when you discontinue it.  I have been losing my hair since 2008.  I can see so much scalp all over my head, and of course, nape is bald.  The only place I can tell you to go is the nearest wig shop and browse, try on.  That will be your new normal.  Unfortunately.  Search online for wigs, synthetic and HH. 

I don't even know where to start.  I have looked online.  Why type do I look for and what is HH?

I am so afraid of it flying off or looking fake