Can only imagine how hard it was to adjust to balding being a woman. Much respect to all you beautiful ladies. Has alopecia, in one way or another, pushed you to be stronger in other aspect of your lives?

Views: 48

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Oh it certainly has made me stronger. I'm still new to AA and already I feel that it has made me a stronger person than I was before.
If it has, I am not aware of it. I lost 50% of my hair, shaved off the rest and got a great "hair system". To the outside world it seemed like I got a flattering new hairstyle. I really didn't miss a step. It still is very much my secret though. The fact that I didn't have to face the world with a physical feature that set me apart from others protected me from dealing with their reactions. Losing eyebrows and eyelashes could change things considerably for me I imagine.
Hey there,
I would say that it made me realise the strength I already had, having never really been tested before. I cried my eyes out on the day when I thought 'So much hair has now come out I need to start wearing scarves', I sat in my bed and mass emailed all my colleagues so that the next day when I turned up for work with a hippy-like scarf on they did not wonder what was going on. After that I have just gotten on with it. That was in March and I now have hardly a single hair left...I'm AU. I haven't changed, I just appreciate how strong and confident I am, something I never really thought about before. Also, I hate moaners, so am of the opinion that as long as I am not ill then I will be fine. Lots of people out there are much worse off than me, so I am still smiling... A LOT!
Kx
Heck yea... I had to change the way I think about lots of stuff..

All of the steps through my life and the blessing to my AU has made me a much stronger person.