Hi all,

long-time lurker, first-time poster.  I've been battling alopecia for about 8 years now. It developed when i was 22. 

I've made a lot of progress over the past few years through natural remedies and diet. I eat an extremely clean diet. Plant-based and whole foods. Lots of exercise, sun and fresh air when i can get it.

I found this one study done on quercetin and alopecia. Quercetin is bioflavanoid found in many foods like onions, grapes, wine, etc. A quercetin supplement is readily available in most health stores.

Here is the link to the study: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22042611.  All the mice treated with quercetin showed regrowth. There are some pics in there as well.

Has anyone tried it? I'm thinking of giving it a go. Apparently not only is quercetin a strong anti-viral but it's also a natural antihistamine. There have been other studies showing antihistamines having a positive effect on alopecia.

I also found this patent that was filed that showed a combination of quercetin, bromelain, and vitamin C (500mg each 3 times a day) has beneficial affects on other autoimmune diseases such as lupus and rheumatoid arthritis.

Here is the link to the patent:  http://www.google.com/patents/US20040028675

Views: 15214

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi, I had the same risults just eating healthy food and doing a lot of sport. WHen I stopped to eat healthy I start to lose my hair again.

2 days ago I start the diet and Im taking also the quercetin.

do u think is possible that we have food allergy?

Let me tell you something, when I was extremly depressive about my alopecia, I couldn't realy eat for 2-3 days.

Believe me or not, tonns of my hair started growing back on my eyebrows and eyelashes.

But well, I'm just a normal human as you are, so we all have to eat anytime, and so did I.

The "new hair" fell out after 1-2 weeks.